Why I Am Done With Conservative Pundits & Fox News

It has been almost one year since the presidential race formally began with the first candidate entrance into the fray. A lot has happened, fights, entrances and drop outs, and a crazier race that most didn’t think would happen.

In comparison to past election years, this has been the most vile and vicious, as candidates, pundits and individuals have gone at each other, most coming out on the other side divided. And I have to say that I feel more disappointed and divided then ever. I have watched an entire TV station, and political pundits who once did their due diligence and fact checked and where responsible, swirl the drain of mediocrity and throw away their integrity in an instant.

I have watched as Glenn Beck went from listening to all candidates, supporting those who best represent us. To defending Ted Cruz without reason or facts. He ran to his defense when the claim was made that he wanted to federalize homeschooling. Which is partially not true, but when you want the government to give money towards homeschooling, you put yourself on the road to the government stepping in and federalizing it.

Sean Hannity, who I have tolerated for years, and sometimes appreciated. Has fallen head over heels for Trump and I cannot understand why someone can just throw away their beliefs and values like that.

I see people cover for Trump’s insane behavior, mock Rubio for one joke, cover up Cruz’s dirty campaign tricks against his competitors. The insanity reaches new heights with each passing day.

And the cherry on top is Fox News going from partially fair and balanced, to Trump’s personal news station. Every time he puts out a presser or an event, I see them cover either all of it or for 15 minutes to a half hour. I have never seen one candidate get such undivided attention. I was volunteer and supporter of Rick Santorum, Herman Cain and others for a long time, and never have I seen a full presser or event play on TV. They usually just cut out after they’ve seen enough of them or gotten what they believe was the real meat of story and got what they wanted.

Another stretch of insanity has been watching Breitbart.com, Drudge and other conservative news sites, fall so hard for a candidate that they post smear attacks of their own and put them in big bold headlines on their front pages. Never has there been such a blatant lack of fact checking and integrity in journalism in the conservative sphere for as long as I have been involved in politics. Sites that where once devoted to the truth and honest reporting, write up crap and peddle half truths as the truth in defense of their candidate.

This is why I am swearing off of these so called unbiased conservative pundits and sites. And if this goes anywhere, I would just say to Glenn Beck and conservative media in general. This is why your websites and TV stations or tanking. You no longer represent or report the truth.

I will return when you’ve admitted your wrongs and have gone back to fact based, unbiased reporting. Until then I’ll be watching CNN, I at least know where they stand.

Leave a comment